Skip to content ↓
Netherfield Primary School

Netherfield Primary School


Netherfield Primary School is part of the Greater Nottingham Education Trust (GNET).

More details about GNET policies can be found on the GNET website. You can also view the Academy's accounts and financial reports by clicking here.

Netherfield Primary School Governing Body

Our Governors are all volunteers and strive to promote school improvement and support Mr Crone, the Senior Management Team and the whole school staff in their work.

What does the Governing Body do?

It is a legal requirement for all schools to have a Governing Body which is made up of representatives from parents, staff, the local authority and community. A Full Governors Meeting is held every term, along with committee meetings for Strategic Development, Pupils and Personnel and Finance and General Purposes. A Clerk to the Governors is appointed in order to take minutes. A Governor is normally appointed or elected for a four-year term of office.

The Governing Body is made up of no more than 13 governors.

  1. Up to 8 governors appointed by the Trust
  2. A minimum of 2 parent governors
  3. Up to 2 staff governors
  4. The headteacher

Governors are experienced, knowledgeable and supportive of the school. Governors visit the classrooms to increase their understanding of how children learn and each governor is linked to a curriculum area.

The Governing Body is accountable for the way our school is run. They are responsible for setting strategic direction, ensuring accountability and monitoring and evaluating the school’s performance to ensure it always delivers a good quality education for your children. Governors are not expected to get involved in the day to day running of the school. Mr Crone, Headteacher, is responsible for the internal organisation and management of the school.

It is however the Governors’ responsibility to:

  • Review the aims of the school and ensure they are upheld
  • Work closely with Mr Crone and the staff at Netherfield Primary to develop strategies necessary to achieves the required raising of standards for the school
  • Monitor progress
  • Form and review policies which set out how the school should be run

Please feel free to contact a member of the Governing Body should you have any questions about the role of governor.

Governing Body members sit on three committees: Pupil and Personnel; Finance and General Purposes and the Strategic Development Committee.

See the document below for more information about the specific remits of these committees.

Netherfield Primary School Governing Body

Name   Type of Governor Date Commenced End Date
Ms Jane Brown Trust 17/07/2019 16/07/2023
Miss Lorna Dermody Trust 16/08/2022 15/08/2026
Mrs Sally Fletcher Trust 16/08/2022 15/08/2026
Mr Lee Bratchley-Clark Parent 08/07/2022 07/07/2026
Ms Hayley Fenyn


Governor of Hogarth Academy

19/10/2016 18/10/2024

Mr Mike Potten

Chair of governors

Trust 02/10/2016 01/10/2024
Ms Kirsty Thomas Parent 08/07/2022 07/07/2026
Ms Aimee Wilkinson Trust 18/10/2022 17/10/2026
Mr James Payne Staff 11/02/2017 10/02/2025
Mr Jon Crone Headteacher 01/09/2019  
Vacancy Trust    
Vacancy Staff    
Ms E Langley Staff 15/10/2018 14/10/2022
Miss L Dermody Trust 18/07/2018 17/07/2022
Mrs S Fletcher Trust 18/07/2018 17/07/2022
Mr C Turner Trust 18/07/2018 17/07/2022
Ms Catherine Wilson Trust 27/11/2018 16/06/2022
Miss Emily Head Parent 17/10/2019 05/06/2022